2014 Travel Journalist of the Year

2013 NATJA SEAL-GrandPrize_LowRes

For Immediate Release: February 17, 2014
Contact: Yani Leon


PASADENA, CA– The North American Travel Journalists Association (NATJA) today announced that Jayme Moye won the Grand Prize in the 2013 Annual NATJA Awards Competition for overall excellence in travel journalism. This awards competition, now in its 22nd year, honors the “best of the best” in travel writing, photography, and promotion.

In addition to the overall prize, Moye won a Gold prize in the category Personality and Profiles (Print) for her story about traveling to Afghanistan to bike with the country’s first women’s cycling team, “The Road Not Ridden,” as published in Women’s Adventure.

Moye won a Silver prize in the category of Personality and Profiles (Web) for her story “Afghanistan’s Two-Wheeled Revolution,” as published in the National Geographic Adventure Blog. She won a second Silver prize, in the category of Travel Roundups, for “Ultimate Adventure Bucket List,” also published in the National Geographic Adventure Blog. Finally, Moye won a Bronze prize in the Cultural, Educational, and Self-Improvement Travel category for “Path of the Patriarch,” a reflection on her trek across the West Bank of Palestine during the Arab Spring, as published in The Clymb.

NATJA Awards recognize excellence in travel writing, photojournalism, social media, multimedia platforms, advertising, marketing and public relations for the travel and tourism industry. This year, NATJA received 600 submissions from all over the world.

NATJA is the second largest travel media association in North America. Members include travel media professionals, convention and visitors bureaus, social media, hotels and attractions, and other travel marketing agencies. Members are provided with professional development workshops, peer-to-peer evaluation, web tools and networking opportunities. NATJA also publishes TravelWorld International Magazine (www.travelworldmagazine.com).

For more information about NATJA or a complete list of 2013 award winners and finalists, visit http://www.natja.org/awards/2013-winners


Comments are closed.